During the session on 19 January 2014, a Chombo occurred after a player declared Riichi. While there are no issues with regards to Mangan equivalent payment to the 3 players, the issue lie in Riichi stick deposit and Honba counter.
Riichi stick deposit stays and brought to the next round. Honba counter added by 1.
What should have happened
Riichi stick deposit return to the owner, no addition of Honba counter and the whole round is considered voided.
Source from Japanese Wikipedia: http://ja.wikipedia.org/wiki/麻雀の反則行為
As quoted above, the Japanese text are translated as “In the event of Chombo, after the offender has paid his penalty, the round is commonly considered as “No-Game / No Count” and proceed to re-playing the round. Riichi sticks used for the round are returned to original owner, the round is re-played with neither additional of Honba Counter nor changing of Dealer”
Source from European Mahjong Association’s RCR Rule book 2012
“After a chombo riichi bets are returned to the players who declared riichi, and there is a re-deal. No counter is placed, and the dealer does not rotate.”
As such, we will take the stand of a more commonly known way of handling Chombo situations. The particular round that has Chombo is not considered in one’s statistical performance.